Facebook has become a giant dump of posts shared by people who have no idea whom they are sharing it too. If you want your post to be shared by someone else, you have to look at the right options before sharing your posts. Also sometimes, you might find yourself sharing posts that could be seen by people who can actually have a bad impression about you. You could learn How To Make A Post Shareable On Facebook to make such scenarios right. There are a couple of things you need to keep in mind like audience selector etc.,
How Can My Friends share my Facebook posts
Make sure you are posting your Facebook posts by keeping the visibility to your friends or Public, to make changes to the existing post, check what you have below your name on the post, if it's only me, then only you can see the post, click on that and choose public or friends so that your friends can see the post and share. Read more on Facebook help.
How to share a Facebook post outside Facebook
Sometimes you might be wondering how to share a post that you see on the Facebook wall, when you click on the share icon you'll only see the option to share them to your wall, or page or a group. But how to share that to a WhatsApp or Twitter or any other Medium?
On Facebook Mobile: You can just copy the link by clicking the three dots at the top Right and share them as usual.
On Facebook PC: You'll be accessing Facebook through a web browser, To get the URL just click on the date on the Facebook post, this will take you to the posting page, now copy the URL and share it across.
Check whether you blocked your friend
Sometimes, you would have blocked your friend by mistake, and because of that your friend can't view or share your Facebook post, you can just unblock him to make things work.
These are the different type of audiences that you could actually share your posts to.
Public: This basically means that everyone can see it irrespective of whether these people are your friends or not. And they can share your post with their friends or the public.
Friends (+ friends of anyone tagged): This option exclusively lets you share posts to only your friends. But if someone is tagged in that post, that means that their friends can also see that post. So, your audience widens in that case. If you tag someone who is not your friend, then it becomes your friends, people you have tagged who are not your friends, and then friends of those people who are tagged in it. You can modify this option by choosing Custom in the Audience Selector while posting. Uncheck Friends of those tagged to make sure friends of tagged people in posts don't get to see the post. Only your friends can share this post, and people outside of your friend circle can't see your post.
Only Me: As the name suggests, This option lets you post stuff to yourself. Basically no one but you can see the post at all. This option allows you to post stuff to your timeline that is visible only to you. These posts will never be visible to your friends. When you tag someone in your content and choose Only Me, the audience won't expand to include the person you tagged.
Specific Friends / Friends Except : As the name suggests you can choose a list of specific friends you want to show it to or to avoid a list of friends and show it to every one else in your friends list. Choose if you want to go about either of those two options from the audience selector.
Custom: When you choose Custom, you have the power to selectively share something with a set of people, or more often hide it from a list of people. Custom is not just limited to a list of people, if you want to limit sharing to a unique group or list, you could do that easily by Custom.
Did you know: You can Screen your Share on Facebook Messenger!
How to choose an audience in New Facebook
- Most probably, you will find the create post at the top of the page or Timeline, click What’s on your mind? From here, you can choose to post a status update, photo, video, or check-in event.
- On the Right side of where it says NewsFeed/Your Story, click the audience selector dropdown (where you see Public & Friends in the screenshot below).
- Choose the audience you’d like to be able to see the content you are posting (example: Friends, Public, or Only Me).
How to choose an audience in Old Facebook
This is pretty much the same option except the way it actually looks.
- At the top of your News Feed or timeline, click What’s on your mind? From here, you can do things like post a status update, photo, video or check in to an event.
- To the right of News Feed, click the audience selector (example: Friends).
- Click the audience you’d like to see your content (example: Friends, Public or Only Me).
Update Privacy Settings
Privacy Settings is another part of Facebook settings that you could actually modify to make sure as to who gets to see your content in the public. You could change the privacy setting by
- Clicking on the dropdown in the top right corner of the Facebook screen.
- Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.
- Click Privacy in the left bar.
- Make the necessary changes and save it.
This option lets you change any option not just for posts but also as to who can send you friend request, see your friends list, see your email address, look up your phone number and whether you want search engines outside of facebook to link to your profile. This enables more visibility for your profile outside of facebook like google etc.,